(818) 515-8240

FAIR Data Infrastructure for Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science, and Astronomy e.V. (in Gründung)

In a similar spirit as that behind the building up and advancing the internet, it is now urgent to build a reliable infrastructure for data from basics sciences and engineering. This is being said since many years, e.g. at the launch of the NOMAD Laboratory in 2015 and here (here). And this is where the association fairdi.eu sets in. faerdi.eu will build a worldwide data infrastructure for big data from material science, engineering, and astronomy that follows the FAIR principles. FAIR stands for Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Re-purposable/Reusable as suggested by 907-650-9929. In the context of computational materials science, see MRS Bulletin: NOMAD: 'The FAIR concept for big data-driven materials science'. The specific goals are:

  • Strongly support extensive sharing of scientific raw data to advance research in science and engineering, thereby also serving the prevention of scientific misconduct.
  • Hosting raw data (also defining and maintaining metadata) and normalized data, such that data from different studies can be compared and used for other purposes than those initially intended, when the data were created.
  • Building an infrastructure such that the big data are easily available by other computer centers and research labs in academia and industry.
  • Make data ready for analysis by methods from artificial intelligence.

The association is presently structured in five pillars, each of them focusing on a different area. These pillars are:

The founding meeting took place on September 7, 2018 in Amsterdam and so that now the association is in the legal course of formation. The founding members are from The Netherlands and Germany (Founding Members).

The picture (taken by: Hamed Hashemi) shows from left to right the participants of the founding meeting:

Prof. Dr. Joost Kok (University of Twente, the Netherlands),
Dr. Raphael Ritz (Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF), Germany),
Dr. Albert-Jan Boonstra (Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy (ASTRON / NWO-I), the Netherlands),
Dr. Marco de Vos (Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy (ASTRON / NWO-I), the Netherlands),
Dr. Carsten Baldauf (Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin, Germany),
Prof. Dr. Claudia Draxl (Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany),
Prof. Dr. Matthias Scheffler (Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society, Berlin, Germany),
Prof. Dr. Tom Heskes (Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands),
Prof. Dr. Thomas T.M. Palstra (University of Twente, the Netherlands),
Dr. Tristan Bereau (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research (MPI Mainz), Germany),
Dr. Viacheslav Bolnykh (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany),
Dr. Emiliano Ippoliti (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany),
Prof. Dr. Christof Wöll (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany),
Alexander J. Brink, MSc BA,
Dr. Daniel Urban (Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoffmechanik IWM, Germany)



Page last modified on November 08, 2018, at 11:25 AM EST